Ontological Aspects of Early Jewish Anthropology; The Malleable Self and the Presence of God byTyson L. Putthoff

Ontological Aspects of Early Jewish Anthropology; The Malleable Self and the Presence of God byTyson L. Putthoff

In Ontological Aspects of Early Jewish Anthropology, Tyson L. Putthoff explores early Jewish beliefs about how the human self reacts ontologically in God’s presence. Combining contemporary theory with sound exegesis, Putthoff demonstrates that early Jews widely considered the self to be intrinsically malleable, such that it mimics the ontological state of the space it inhabits. In divine space, they believed, the self therefore shares in the ontological state of God…

Akim Volynsky; A Hidden Russian-Jewish Prophet by Helen Tolstoy

Akim Volynsky; A Hidden Russian-Jewish Prophet by Helen Tolstoy

In Akim Volynsky: A Hidden Russian-Jewish Prophet Helen Tolstoy goes far beyond the accepted image of Akim Volynsky as a controversial literary critic of the 1890s who ran the first journal of Russian Symbolists, promoted philosophic idealism and proposed the first modernist reading of Dostoevsky. This book, through the study of periodicals and archive materials, offers a new view of Volynsky as a champion of Symbolist theater, supporter of Jewish…

Medieval Midrash: The House for Inspired Innovation by Bernard H. Mehlman and Temple Israel

Medieval Midrash: The House for Inspired Innovation by Bernard H. Mehlman and Temple Israel

Medieval Midrash: The House for Inspired Innovation is the first book-length study of this under-examined genre of Jewish Literature. Mehlman and Limmer cover the history of scholarship of these curious texts and evaluate the origins, dating, and authors of Medieval Midrash. In addition to addressing such scholarly questions, Medieval Midrash illustrates its themes and judgments through the annotated translation of the six extant texts that revolve around the key figure…

The Proselyte and the Prophet; Character Development in Targum Ruth byChristian M. M. Brady,

The Proselyte and the Prophet; Character Development in Targum Ruth byChristian M. M. Brady,

The Proselyte and the Prophet: Character Development in Targum Ruth by Christian M. M. Brady is an exegetical study of Targum Ruth with a focus upon the transformation of the biblical characters into exemplars of rabbinic piety. Ruth becomes the ideal proselyte while Boaz is presented as a judge, a scholar of the Law, and a prophet. Brady demonstrates that the Targumist follows standard Targumic practice, rendering each Hebrew word…

No Stories to Tell by Steve Sherr

No Stories to Tell by Steve Sherr

At the end of the tumultuous 1960s, Steve Sherr, a young university psychologist finds himself drowning in a sea of relative values and political correctness. Battling growing disenchantment with his profession as well as with life itself, he is desperate to find a few solid truths. He wants to tell wise stories to his children about what life is really all about, but with excruciating honesty, he realizes that he…

The Secret Book of Kings by Yochi Brandes

The Secret Book of Kings by Yochi Brandes

In the tradition of The Red Tent from internationally bestselling author Yochi Brandes comes the stories of the struggles of King David and King Saul in the early days of the Kingdom of Israel, seen through the eyes of Michal, Saul’s daughter and David’s abandoned queen Stories are deadlier than swords. Swords kill only those who stand before them, stories decide who will live and die in generations to come.…

Game of Queens: A Novel of Vashti and Esther by India Edghill

Game of Queens: A Novel of Vashti and Esther by India Edghill

For fans of The Red Tent and The Dovekeepers, India Edghill breathes new life into the biblical story of Vashti and Esther with her signature historical richness, epic scope, and sweeping romance. You may know part of the story already, but you only know what history has passed along. The story of how Vashti, Queen of Queens, the most beautiful woman in all the empire, defied the king her husband…

New Podcast: Dreidels on the Brain by Joel Ben Izzy

New Podcast: Dreidels on the Brain by Joel Ben Izzy

The newest episode of The Book of Life podcast, hosted by librarian Heidi Rabinowitz, features an interview with storyteller Joel Ben Izzy about his middle grade novel Dreidels on the Brain. One lousy miracle. Is that too much to ask? Evidently so for Joel, as he tries to survive Hannukah, 1971 in the suburbs of the suburbs of Los Angeles (or, as he calls it, “The Land of Shriveled Dreams”).…

Oedipus in Brooklyn and Other Stories by Blume Lempel

Oedipus in Brooklyn and Other Stories by Blume Lempel

Blume Lempel is a fearless storyteller whose imagination skilfully moves between the realistic and the fantastic, the lyrical and the philosophical. Her subjects like her settings – Paris, Poland, Brooklyn, Tel Aviv, California – range widely. A Holocaust survivor speaks to the shadows in her garden; a pious old woman imagines romance; a New York subway commuter forges a bond with a homeless woman; a middle-aged woman opens her heart…

More Than Managing: The Relentless Pursuit of Effective Jewish Leadership by Lawrence A. Hoffman

More Than Managing: The Relentless Pursuit of Effective Jewish Leadership by Lawrence A. Hoffman

Jewish organizational life is inundated with publications on organizational change and effective leadership, but from mutually exclusive sources: business and organizational studies, on the one hand; and Jewish studies, on the other. One addresses leadership but not the religious soul. The other speaks from its Jewish soul but is only secondarily engaged in the study of leadership. More Than Managing thoughtfully combines both to be immediately applicable to Jewish organizational…