Visible City by Tova Mirvis (The Book of Life podcast)

Visible City by Tova Mirvis

The newest episode of The Book of Life podcast, hosted by librarian Heidi Estrin, features an interview with Tova Mirvis, author of The Ladies Auxiliary and The Outside World, about her newest novel, Visible City. You can hear the podcast online at: http://www.jewishbooks.blogspot.com/2015/03/visible-city.html Book Description For fans of Meg Wolitzer and Allegra Goodman, an intimate and provocative novel about three couples whose paths intersect in their New York City neighborhood,…

Podcast for Multicultural Children’s Book Day

The newest episode of The Book of Life podcast, hosted by librarian Heidi Estrin, features an interview with conference panelists responding to the Pew study “A Portrait of Jewish Americans” and how children’s literature can help – it all boils down to diversity. You can hear the podcast online at: http://www.jewishbooks.blogspot.com/2015/01/diversity-in-jewish-kidlit.html January 27 is Multicultural Children’s Book Day, making it an appropriate time to think about diversity within Jewish children’s…

Podcast: Queen of the Jews

The newest episode of The Book of Life podcast, hosted by librarian Heidi Estrin, features an interview with Judy Petsonk, author of Queen of the Jews. The book is a historical novel about the life of Queen Salome Alexandra, AKA Shalom-Zion, a descendent of the Maccabees who ruled the independent state of Judea.

A Replacement Life by Boris Fishman

Criminal Attachments: Immigration, Family, and Fraud in Soviet Brooklyn Boris Fishman’s dark new novel explores the tensions between a grandson and his elders as he evolves into an American Slava Gelman, a twentysomething aspiring writer, is trying to claw his way out of the post-Soviet Brooklyn neighborhood of his family. But his grandfather is determined to pull him back in. He wants to enlist Slava to invent life stories for…

To Rise Again at a Decent Hour by Joshua Ferris

Joshua Ferris Takes on All Kinds of Decay in His Ambitious New Novel‘To Rise Again at a Decent Hour’ wrestles with faith, community, baseball, and what it means to refuse to fill your cavities The novelist Joshua Ferris made a splash in 2007 with his debut Then We Came to the End. The critically acclaimed book was a hilarious, biting satire about employees in a collapsing ad agency in Chicago…

Podcast: Jews in Texas

The newest episode of The Book of Life podcast, hosted by librarian Heidi Estrin, features an interview with Debra Winegarten, author of THERE’S JEWS IN TEXAS? and Josh Parshall, oral historian at the Institute of Southern Jewish Life. The interview took place in Houston, TX at the Association of Jewish Libraries conference, where we spoke about Texas Jewish life. You can hear the podcast online at:http://www.jewishbooks.blogspot.com/2014/05/jews-in-texas.html

The Legacy of Jewish Swimmers

The newest episode of The Book of Life podcast, hosted by librarian Heidi Estrin, features an interview with Karen Propp. Karen won the 2013 Sydney Taylor Manuscript Award for her work-in-progress FREESTYLE, based on the true story of champion swimmer Judith Deutsch and the Viennese Hakoah swim team of the 1930’s.  You can hear the podcast online at:http://www.jewishbooks.blogspot.com/2014/04/the-legacy-of-jewish-swimmers.html