Podcast: Enough with the Holocaust Books for Children!

The newest episode of The Book of Life podcast, hosted by librarian Heidi Estrin, features a long and juicy virtual panel discussion about the Holocaust’s place in Jewish children’s literature. It’s called “Enough with the Holocaust Books for Children!” Listen and see if you agree!  Then check out The Book of Life’s site for a long list of suggested titles for kids and teens. You can hear the podcast online…

The Book of Life Podcast: #Readukkah & Mitzvah Cards

Rabbi Goldie Milgram with Mitzvah Cards

The newest episode of The Book of Life podcast, hosted by librarian Heidi Estrin, features information about the #Readukkah Jewish reading challenge, and an interview with Rabbi Goldie Milgrim about Mitzvah Cards and other projects of Reclaiming Judaism. You can hear the podcast online at: http://www.jewishbooks.blogspot.com/2015/11/pick-card-any-card.html

Playing With Matches by Suri Rosen (+Podcast)

Playing With Matches by Suri Rosen

When 16-year-old Raina Resnick is expelled from her Manhattan private school, she’s sent to live with her strict aunt — but Raina feels like she’s persona non grata no matter where she goes. Her sister, Leah, blames her for her broken engagement, and she’s a social pariah at her new school. In the tight-knit Jewish community, Raina finds she is good at one thing: matchmaking! As the anonymous “MatchMaven,” Raina…

Canadian Interlude: Carol Matas (The Book of Life podcast)

Pieces of the Past

The Book of Life’s Canadian Correspondent Anne Dublin interviews author Carol Matas. Matas has written 45 books for children and teens and has won many awards. Recently she won the Canadian Jewish Book Award for Pieces of the Past, the Holocaust Diary of Rose Rabinowitz, and she was named a finalist for the National Jewish Book Award for Tucson Jo, a novel inspired by Tucson, Arizona’s first Jewish mayor. Listen…

Visible City by Tova Mirvis (The Book of Life podcast)

Visible City by Tova Mirvis

The newest episode of The Book of Life podcast, hosted by librarian Heidi Estrin, features an interview with Tova Mirvis, author of The Ladies Auxiliary and The Outside World, about her newest novel, Visible City. You can hear the podcast online at: http://www.jewishbooks.blogspot.com/2015/03/visible-city.html Book Description For fans of Meg Wolitzer and Allegra Goodman, an intimate and provocative novel about three couples whose paths intersect in their New York City neighborhood,…

Podcast for Multicultural Children’s Book Day

The newest episode of The Book of Life podcast, hosted by librarian Heidi Estrin, features an interview with conference panelists responding to the Pew study “A Portrait of Jewish Americans” and how children’s literature can help – it all boils down to diversity. You can hear the podcast online at: http://www.jewishbooks.blogspot.com/2015/01/diversity-in-jewish-kidlit.html January 27 is Multicultural Children’s Book Day, making it an appropriate time to think about diversity within Jewish children’s…

The Longest Night (The Book of Life podcast)

The Longest Night: A Passover Story

The newest episode of The Book of Life podcast, hosted by librarian Heidi Estrin, features an interview with author Laurel Snyder and illustrator Catia Chen about their picture book, The Longest Night. This winner of the 2014 Sydney Taylor Book Award explores the Exodus from the point of view of a young Hebrew slave. You can hear the podcast online at: http://www.jewishbooks.blogspot.com/2015/01/the-longest-night.html

The Book of Life podcast: STORM on Noah’s Ark

Storm by Donna Jo Napoli

The newest episode of The Book of Life podcast, hosted by librarian Heidi Estrin, features an interview with prolific, award-winning author Donna Jo Napoli about her new teen/adult crossover novel STORM, which takes place on Noah’s Ark from the point of view of a young stowaway. You can hear the podcast online at: http://www.jewishbooks.blogspot.com/2014/12/storm-on-noahs-ark.html

The Book of Life Podcast: Book Expo 2014 Variety

Rabbi Benjamin's Buttons

The newest episode of The Book of Life podcast, hosted by librarian Heidi Estrin, features three live interviews from Book Expo America with reps from Charlesbridge, Image Comics, and Dundurn about their forthcoming Jewish titles for kids and adults. Charlesbridge: Rabbi Benjamin’s Buttons by Alice McGinty Image Comics: Noah by Darren Aronofsky Dundurn: Fields of Exile by Dr. Nora Gold, and Stealing Time by Anne Dublin You can hear the podcast…

Never Say a Mean Word Again (Podcast)

Never Say a Mean Word Again

The newest episode of The Book of Life podcast, hosted by librarian Heidi Estrin, features a live interview from Book Expo America with author Jacqueline Jules and illustrator Durga Yael Bernhard, creators of the picture book Never Say a Mean Word Again. The story takes place in medieval Spain in the Muslim city of Granada and was inspired by a legend about how the Jewish royal advisor Samuel Ha-Nagid “tore…