Thirst: The Desert Trilogy by Shulamith Hareven

Thirst: The Desert Trilogy by Shulamith Hareven

Israeli novelist and activist Shulamith Hareven’s Thirst: The Desert Trilogy, contains three of her greatest works: The Miracle Hater, Prophet, and After Childhood. In these novellas, Hareven recasts the the biblical journey from exodus to the Land of Israel in a contemporary voice. Enlarging one of the world’s most dramatic and beloved stories, Hareven shifts our focus from the typical heroes—the great and powerful men of history—to the margins: a disillusioned shepherd who loses faith in his leaders; a would-be prophet from a distant city whose fate becomes entwined with the Israelites; an unhappy couple living at the very edge of civilization.

Source: Jewish Book Council

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *